For Rickski - Stripers247.com Forums
 
Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > Equipment & Tackle --- How To / Do It Yourself Forums > Plugs and Plug Building
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Plugs and Plug Building This is our lure and plug building forum.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-09-2009, 01:38 PM
Roccus's Avatar
Roccus Roccus is offline
King of Eels
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reading, Mass/Rings Island
Posts: 4,227
Default For Rickski

I know how you like the old stuff...

a friend called me last weekend about a lathe that was at a house selling off all his tools, poor guy's in the beginning stages of Parkinson's..

anyway, he sent me a picture from his cell phone... so I took a ride to Green land NH..

It's a 1975 Craftsman lathe with a 12" swing, powered by a 3/4HP motor, strangely, the drives and tail stock are 1MT ,not 2MT, which I would have expected from something so gugged...... it has so little use, the pulleys are not even shined up from the belt, and the thing is rock solid, not like the stuff sold today... it came with the custom cabinet you see it on and face plates and a set of Greenlie knives.. all for $200... I plan on using it primarily for drilling and bowls work...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 243.jpg
Views:	462
Size:	104.0 KB
ID:	11971   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 245.jpg
Views:	245
Size:	84.7 KB
ID:	11972  
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-09-2009, 02:01 PM
Rickski's Avatar
Rickski Rickski is offline
First Mate
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 1,198
Default Re: For Rickski

I love it. That's the same model lathe I picked up to replace the old Dunlap I had. Mine came with a 1/2HP. Craftsman made a duplicator called a copy crafter that also came with my lathe. I'll get some model numbers and pictures tonight when I get home. The 1MT head and tail stock spur, live, ect centers are still available. Craftsman's parts web site still carries parts for it, and you can download the owners manual.

It's a solid lathe. Last weekend I was stripping bark off some Japenese Black Pine. I had chips flying everywhere. The lathe didn't mind at all and vibrated very little.

Did it come with tool rests? Good luck with it.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2009, 02:31 PM
Roccus's Avatar
Roccus Roccus is offline
King of Eels
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reading, Mass/Rings Island
Posts: 4,227
Default Re: For Rickski

I was surprised it was a 3/4 HP, the data plate on the lathe said no larger than 1/2hp... but the motor is a craftsman lathe/bandsaw/table saw motor ( says it right on the motor data plate) the motor also is a 1975, so if it was swapped out, they did it right after it was bought... it does a much better job at drilling than my turn crafter.. I drilled 100 blanks.. every one was dead nuts, with the Tc, I would have had to "redirect" the through hole on about 10% of them...
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 10-09-2009, 02:33 PM
Roccus's Avatar
Roccus Roccus is offline
King of Eels
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reading, Mass/Rings Island
Posts: 4,227
Default Re: For Rickski

yes, it came with two tool rests... a 4" and a 12'....
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2009, 08:08 PM
Rickski's Avatar
Rickski Rickski is offline
First Mate
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 1,198
Default Re: For Rickski

Mine is a lathe model 113.228162. The duplicator is model 113.249070. Both Craftsman. Here's a pic.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Lathe 113228162 duplicator 113249070 (496 x 372).jpg
Views:	1262
Size:	54.2 KB
ID:	11973
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2009, 01:08 AM
zimno1's Avatar
zimno1 zimno1 is offline
Old Salt
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,926
Default Re: For Rickski

good for you. wasn't sure what you were talking about that nite we spoke when ya said ya was gonna buy tools. so ya did okay ole man... pm me if your gonna see jr. on the holiday?



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2009, 03:54 PM
jerseystriper's Avatar
jerseystriper jerseystriper is offline
First Mate
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 654
Default Re: For Rickski

Nice pickup there Roc. I had looked at the same lathe a few months back. It was in pieces at the time ready to ship. It was not nearly as nice as that one though. I was wondering if the monotube was good but now I can see it is. The guy also had a few cases of assorted new in package Sorby turning tools. Rickski I had also at the similar time looked at a Dupont. I'm kicking myself now for not following up with what happened to those 2 lathes, at the time they folks wanted too much $$. I thank you guys for the input on these, if I see another one available for the right price I'll be sure to pull the trigger.
I'm so freaking jealous
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2009, 07:43 PM
Roccus's Avatar
Roccus Roccus is offline
King of Eels
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reading, Mass/Rings Island
Posts: 4,227
Default Re: For Rickski

The mono tube is perfect for drilling,much smoother than a flat bed, I use the chuck to clamp plugs that have a rounded nose (like goo-goos and 40's) so I can sand them round...

Eventualy, I'll swap out the motor for a variable speed, I have a control box and DC motor, all I need to do is make a cradle... next spring maybe.. I'm too busy to bother with it now...it's fine as it is...
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-11-2009, 03:57 PM
jerseystriper's Avatar
jerseystriper jerseystriper is offline
First Mate
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 654
Default Re: For Rickski

Roc do you have the motor you need for this? If not give me some information on what you need. I come across motors all the time and may even have one laying around. I install verticle wheelchair lifts(porch lifts), Stair chairs, and other handicap items like that. I have tossed so many motors in the past that it makes me sick to think about it. You just never know I may have what you need. Oh I just looked again and see that you may have what you need, well if not just ask and I'll check. We also usually also have motors from vehicle(vans, buses) w/c lifts, power floors and who knows what else. You would be amazed to see the things we do at the shop as I think things we do would interest you, it's pretty neat and amazing. To be able to drive a vehicle with a joysict like playing a game is one thing along with the cutting up of vans and dropping the floor 6 to 10 inches is another-oh and we can make part of the floor motorized to go up and down. Sorry I'm just rambling and this has nothing to do with the post-except for the motor
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-13-2009, 08:29 AM
Roccus's Avatar
Roccus Roccus is offline
King of Eels
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reading, Mass/Rings Island
Posts: 4,227
Default Re: For Rickski

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerseystriper View Post
Roc do you have the motor you need for this? If not give me some information on what you need. I come across motors all the time and may even have one laying around. I install verticle wheelchair lifts(porch lifts), Stair chairs, and other handicap items like that. I have tossed so many motors in the past that it makes me sick to think about it. You just never know I may have what you need. Oh I just looked again and see that you may have what you need, well if not just ask and I'll check. We also usually also have motors from vehicle(vans, buses) w/c lifts, power floors and who knows what else. You would be amazed to see the things we do at the shop as I think things we do would interest you, it's pretty neat and amazing. To be able to drive a vehicle with a joysict like playing a game is one thing along with the cutting up of vans and dropping the floor 6 to 10 inches is another-oh and we can make part of the floor motorized to go up and down. Sorry I'm just rambling and this has nothing to do with the post-except for the motor
Thanks , but 1) I have everything I need, 2) I run the maintenance department an am a mechanic in a large machine shop...I have anything and everything, dealing with gears, motors belts and anything else you could imagine at my disposal.. my parts trailer would be heaven to most "tinkerers"
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-13-2009, 01:09 PM
jerseystriper's Avatar
jerseystriper jerseystriper is offline
First Mate
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 654
Default Re: For Rickski

Yeah Roc I thought that was the case I was knew you worked for a machine shop but I thought I might offer just in case. The idea you have seems the best way to go using the controller and speed adjusted motor. I had modified one a while back for a friend using a pulley with 3 different sizes on it, then made a cradle/slide and quick release clamp to switch belts to different pulley step. It only took about 20 or 30 secs. to change speed. But like said your idea is much better-easier,and convience. I thought I would post this as it may help someone else and if they need I can explain the concept/design to them through PM.

Again very nice rig at a decent price(freaking like brand new) have you had the chance to use it much more since the trial us? Are you looking to sell the other one(Turn Crafter)? I doubt it but I thought I might ask as I have been somewaht looking around. The reason I doubt it is that with 2 you don't have to switch things up as much, but what do I know. It has been years since I have used a lathe. It's also got to be great to have access to all those machining tools to make all those custom parts .

I had never heard of Greenlie (knives)? Is that Greenlee like the electrian tools or just an older company. If it's Greenlee, I never knew they made knives(turning knives? I quess I should ask) Sorry for the long post I'm just trying to help some and expand my own knowledge
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-13-2009, 02:01 PM
Roccus's Avatar
Roccus Roccus is offline
King of Eels
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reading, Mass/Rings Island
Posts: 4,227
Default Re: For Rickski

for what I want it for, the pulley system is fine... I've since mounted the motor on a slide base that has an adjustment bolt...for now, I'll keep it the way it is...

I actualy have 3 lathes, two turn crafters and now the
craftsman... The craftsman and cabinate it is mounted on are relegated for drilling and storage of fixtures, that whole thing is on casters so it can be moved around the shop.. the two Turncrafters are set up with Vegaduplicators, 1 has a 10" dupe.. the other a 24" dupe.. I do some spindle,pen and bowl work as well as plugs...

The tools are made by greenlee( my spelling leaves something to be desired at times).. the same company that makes the electricians tools, they are as old as the lathe.. i gave them to a guy( the one that alerted me to the lathe) at work because I have a full set of Sorbys and a set of Benjamins best, which are made by( or for) penn State industries...a third set woul just be taking up space anyway..

I actualy bought the Craftsman strickly for drilling( and a little bowl turning and proto type makeing)... because I like the tube for that..I could have bought a brand new Turncrafter VS ( less the cabinate) for less money than I paid for the Craftsman... but as always... I had a specific purpose for it.. and it works like a charm....
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-15-2009, 11:10 PM
Rickski's Avatar
Rickski Rickski is offline
First Mate
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 1,198
Default Re: For Rickski

Mounting motors on a spring loaded hinged base works good. Many times, just the weight of the motor is enough to put enough tension on the belt. When it's time to change the belt on the pulley, lift the motor, change the belt position and release. A few second later, you are at a different speed.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-16-2009, 08:37 AM
Roccus's Avatar
Roccus Roccus is offline
King of Eels
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reading, Mass/Rings Island
Posts: 4,227
Default Re: For Rickski

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickski View Post
Mounting motors on a spring loaded hinged base works good. Many times, just the weight of the motor is enough to put enough tension on the belt. When it's time to change the belt on the pulley, lift the motor, change the belt position and release. A few second later, you are at a different speed.
that's the way all the old belt driven table saws were set up... my drill press has a simular set up... it wont work on the lathe.. not enough room onthe table top to make the plan fly.. ..but because I am using it to primarily drill.. i use the Ronco theory.. set it and forget it..
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-16-2009, 05:34 PM
Mark P's Avatar
Mark P Mark P is offline
The Artist Formerly known as Jackbass
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central MA
Posts: 1,148
Default Re: For Rickski

That Mono Tube looks like it would be unbelievable for through drilling. zero Play. Very nice.
__________________
You were given a name at birth and since then have assumed many others at the end of the day many know who you are by how you speak.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
rickski

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2013 Stripers247.com LLC
Affiliated Sites:   Noreast.com   Allcoast.com    2coolfishing.com