Working on Stripe in Ca. Aqueduct - Stripers247.com Forums
 
Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > Sweetwater Stripers > Interior States and Landlocked Striper Forums > California - Lakes, Rivers, Bay and Delta > California Aqueduct
Forgot Password? Register Now!!


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-30-2007, 08:01 PM
stripeseeker stripeseeker is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default Working on Stripe in Ca. Aqueduct

Hello everyone, Any tips on what to use to catch stripers in the Aquaduct ? Also, I've been having trouble with keeping my bait (while bait fishing from collecting alot of debri.... Thanks, Jon
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-30-2007, 08:04 PM
stripeseeker stripeseeker is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Working on Strip in Ca. Aquaduct

OOP's, Forgot the E on Stripe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2007, 08:37 PM
Striperjim's Avatar
Striperjim Striperjim is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,316
Default Re: Working on Stripe in Ca. Aquaduct

Hi Stripe. Welcome. Striperbill uses 1/2 to 3/4 ounce white bucktails in the Aqueduct. He has quite a few pics with that bucktail sticking out of their mouths.

Anchovies is the prevalent forage there I think????
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-2008, 08:41 PM
J. Owen J. Owen is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 58
Default Re: Working on Stripe in Ca. Aquaduct

what is the best way to set up for bait fishing in the aqueduct? the weight at the bottom similar to a drop shot set up, or slide sinker? also if useing a sliding sinker with 30 pound braid what size leader should i use and what material shuld it be braid same as mainline, florocarbon or mono? and do i use stronger or weakerline as the leader?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2008, 03:04 AM
BryanL's Avatar
BryanL BryanL is offline
First Mate
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bellingham, Mass
Posts: 767
Default Re: Working on Stripe in Ca. Aquaduct

Welcome to the site

Bryan
__________________
Nothing Great in Life Has Been Accomplished Without Nerves
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2009, 12:29 AM
kernfishing kernfishing is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Working on Stripe in Ca. Aquaduct

I tried floating anchovies and shad with a light split shot

Didn't work
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2009, 11:38 AM
Jimmy Z's Avatar
Jimmy Z Jimmy Z is offline
I had a BLAST!
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I'm from Manhattan, live in Ct, & my heart is in SOCO
Posts: 2,429
Default Re: Working on Stripe in Ca. Aquaduct

Two years later, lol,
It was good to have you join us two years ago,
__________________
EACH ONE< TEACH ONE
<*((())))>< <*((())))><
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2009, 07:45 AM
Striperjim's Avatar
Striperjim Striperjim is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,316
Default Re: Working on Stripe in Ca. Aqueduct

Yea and a move to the West Coast / California forum might get a few answers.


Knowing your conditions and tackle requirements takes a bit of studying -Learning structure and how moving water relates to it will help a great deal. Put your time in to gain experience. Don't give up.

Quote:
if using a sliding sinker with 30 pound braid what size leader should i use and what material should it be braid same as mainline, fluorocarbon or mono? and do i use stronger or weaker line as the leader?
Your leader will be used for stealth and abrasion resistance. Braid to mono or fluorocarbon. Strength depends on the structure. 30 to 50 pound flouro or mono is a good bet when shore fishing or surf-casting most places with 30 pound braid. 20 to 30 inch leader will help you get used to casting the bait without helicoptering. If that aqueduct moves like the cape cod canal read some threads in the Massachusetts forum and the approach the guys use to fast ripping currents.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
aqueduct, stripe, working

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bait Casting reels.?. Any tips? Aqueduct Fisherman? makasin Reels and Reel Maintenance 9 12-27-2019 01:52 AM
Big fish can be caught in the Aqueduct in Hesperia Cat man Chuck New Member Introductions 0 10-06-2011 11:46 PM
central valley aqueduct california bigbait California Aqueduct 1 07-14-2011 01:14 AM
California Aqueduct striped bass tourney set for March 28 2009 Striperjim California Aqueduct 1 03-16-2009 07:11 PM
Delta's Stripers under attack CaptainMorgan! California - Lakes, Rivers, Bay and Delta 8 08-28-2008 04:03 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2013 Stripers247.com LLC
Affiliated Sites:   Noreast.com   Allcoast.com    2coolfishing.com