Would this be safe? - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > East Coast Regional Forums > Hudson River
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Hudson River The mighty Hudson River reports information and Discussion

Old 01-10-2015, 02:25 AM
Official Member

Default Would this be safe?

I picked up a 12 ft v-hull with a 5 hp vintage outboard that I used up in the adks last summer. Was wondering if this would be safe to use on the hudson out near kingston from sleightsburg on a CALM day.

I mean there's days where you see kayakers out there ffs. . .

What direction does the wind need to be coming out of to make the hudson rough? I'm a novice fisherman, and this will be my first year giving the strippers a shot. I've fished 2-3 yrs on the nyc reservoirs and from my experience on those bodies of water, it's the direction that the wind is coming from more so then the mph that'll make the conditions good/bad.

I'm hoping to pick up a 10hp this summer, but until then I gotta use what I got!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-11-2015, 02:06 PM
Winning !
Pro Staff

Default Re: Would this be safe?

I see 12' alum boats from time to time, I have even had mine out there.
Also see kayaks a lot.

It's totally doable and I felt safe, but between changes of weather and dealing with the waves of all the big boats around it can get rough quick ! Than it's no fun. Just be safe and always wear your PFD in the smaller boats.
Old 01-11-2015, 04:00 PM
Official Member

I've spoken with a few people and I'm thinking that going out onto the actual river is a bad idea. . .

I've had experience on the rondout and ashokan reservoirs rowing and fishing. . . and just my experience on those bodies of water has shown me how quickly the conditions can change.