Learning what's bad is just as important as... - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > The Striper Forum
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

The Striper Forum All things Striper. Striped Bass Fishing Room Born on date March 11 2004.

Old 05-22-2005, 03:26 AM

Default Learning what's bad is just as important as...

Learning what's bad is just as important as learning what's good if not better.

I have been a angler junky for quite some time and I have been fishing casually to avidly for 30 years. Every year I think I have attained enough knowledge to consider myself an expert compared to the year before and every year about a week later I realize how much I still have to learn.

Last spring (04) I set myself up with a carefully thought out rod and reel as well as stocking up on what I considered to be choice tackle strictly for Fire Island fishing. While I am quite succesful in Manhattan and have better gear there, I consider the Great South Bay to be my mainstay hunting grounds.

My wife and I came out to the beach today and within 45 minutes I had my gear set up and in the water x2. And within minutes... I was totally unhappy with my rod/reel combos in both feal and function.

Just last summer, my gear setup represented the culmination of my fishing expertise, that is till about the time I started visiting this forum. After visiting this forum and hearing all the great tips from Jim and anglers such as yourselves, I augmented my styles and my gear and my bait and in doing so became a far more successful fisherman( if not a better speller 8) ). Last summer was also about the time when I stopped fishing to catch whatever I could catch, and instead targeted specific species, namely stripers.

I now have a need or rather a burning desire to replace my beach gear and will do so shortly.