new angler, seeking advice on striper... - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > Sweetwater Stripers > Interior States and Landlocked Striper Forums > California - Lakes, Rivers, Bay and Delta > California Aqueduct
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Old 09-05-2010, 02:10 AM
Official Member

Default new angler, seeking advice on striper...

hi everyone. my name's will and i live in lemoore, ca (30 minutes south of fresno). ive been fishing for a few years now, if u call putting the nastiest stuff u can find on a hook, throwing it out, and waiting for a catfish to bite, fishing. ive been to the aquaduct a few times. my dad used to go out there all the time in the 80's. all ive ever caught out there was a bigazz catfish (16 lb), and that was over a year ago. i have 2 areas to fish in the duct...at the pump/gates/railroad tracks right next to huron, or in kettleman city. ive never caught a striper, and after seeing striperbill's pics, ive gotta catch one of these elusive beasts. i went out 8 times in the last 2 weeks, and got nothing every time. the pumps are on full blast, and the gates are wide open. i stopped by the kettleman city gates yesterday, and noticed that the gates are open, but the pumps are off. im curious if it is a good time to catch a striper when its like this, as that water is still moving pretty fast. i used a 4oz weight, and it still wont reach the bottom. i went out and bought a pencil popper (my first lure by the way), and either im not using it right, or nothing wants to eat it. also, is it "better" to fish after the gates, in the turbulent water, or before the gates where its more calm? and what kind of rig do i use. i use 2 poles, so ill "baitfish" with anchovies on 1, and ill use the popper on the other. any help is GREATLY appreciated, and ill post a pic if/when i catch my first one. thanks.