Stripers247.com Forums - View Single Post - National Federal Registry / Saltwater License News
View Single Post
  #42  
Old 03-31-2011, 02:21 AM
Striperjim's Avatar
Striperjim Striperjim is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,316
Default Re: National Federal Registry / Saltwater License News

Latest updates as of March 31,2011

This is a brief summary of the Saltwater License / Registry


Because of the differences in state policies, NH residents will pay a higher fee to fish in NH coastal waters than will residents of Maine
or Massachusetts.
Maine saltwater licenses are free to their residents but a non-resident will have to pay $15 for the Maine license.
Although New Hampshire has offered reciprocity covering the entire coastline to Maine residents who hold a Maine saltwater license,
Maine has only offered to allow reciprocity to New Hampshire residents who hold a New Hampshire saltwater license to a limited amount of water extending to Cape Neddick.
Massachusetts instituted a $10 license / permit but grants reciprocity to its neighbors.
Rhode Island is a saltwater license state as is Connecticut and both offer border water reciprocities at this time.
New York and New Jersey likely will be the only registry states.
NJ registry is expected to cost each angler $2 eventually but this year it is $15 until the registry is set up and approved by the NOAA.
New Yorks new legislation makes the registry free at least for two years.
There is a two year moratorium on the NY Saltwater Fishing License Fee as part of the Environmental Conservation budget bill.
This moratorium takes effect immediately upon the budget being signed into law. Be aware that the moratorium does not take effect until the 2011-2012 state budget is signed into law by the Governor.
All existing fees associated with the Saltwater Fishing License remain in effect until then. All the budget bills are to be approved by the end of March 30th 2011 or March 31st 2011 with the Governor’s approval following shortly thereafter.

In Delaware FIN Registration is MANDATORY for all resident and non-resident anglers.
The fee for an annual resident fishing license remains $8.50. The non-resident fee has increased from $15 to $20 per year
Delaware has no reciprocity agreement with any state at this time.

Virginia and PRFC are reciprical.
Va license is $17.50 and out of state is $25.
Maryland is the only state with a reciprocity agreement with Virginia.
That said, licensed Marylanders who fish in Virginia will need to
register with the Virginia Fisherman Identification Program.

Thread link to U.S East Coast Online license purchase

Count My fish .org
http://www.countmyfish.noaa.gov/index.html
Reply With Quote